Ongar Millennium History Society
This is a unique record of bygone Ongar using amateur cine film footage, shot in
colour at the time, which has been digitally restored and re-
Our journey back to bygone Ongar starts at Passingford Bridge in 1956. We travel on the Al13 through Stanford Rivers, down Coopers Hill and through Ongar 91High Street. On the way we drop in at the Congregational Church (now the United Reformed Church) to witness a 1950s wedding and then to the reception at the King's Head.
We move on to Love Lane where the 1956 Town Show is being held. This, in its heyday,
was one of the biggest shows in Essex. Then we go on to the building of the Scout
Hut under the supervision of Dr Hatfield in the early 1960s. From the Four Wantz
we return down the High Street visiting the new Great Lawn estate, the station, the
opening of the Scout Hut, the Budworth Hall and the shops. We see a new Post Office
and Fire Station being constructed and on to Coopers Hill, Longfields and The Elms.
Our journey back in time ends at the junction of the Brentwood Road.
The finale is Eric Freeman's 1946 film of Ongar. This is a beautifully crafted film showing Ongar just after the war. It is a fascinating took at the High Street and at the scenes of the harvest on Castle Farm. It is a truly magical experience.
Total running time 52 minutes
|Outings and Visits|
|Kneeler for St Martin's Church|
|Cemetary memorial inscriptions|
|Occupations 1600 to 1650|
|Then and Now|